Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

A Hummingbird Dance

by (author) Garry Ryan

NeWest Press
Initial publish date
Sep 2008
Police Procedural, Gay
Author lives in Alberta

Full alternative textual descriptions

Single logical reading order

Next / Previous structural navigation

Accessibility summary

Compliance certification by:

EPUB Accessibility Specification 1.0 AA

Print-equivalent page numbering

Table of contents navigation

Compatibility tested:
Thorium; Ace by Daisy

  • eBook

    Publish Date
    Sep 2008
    List Price

Alberta-published books are available through the Read Alberta eBook Collection and can be borrowed through Alberta public libraries. Click here to learn more about borrowing titles.

Library Ordering Options


Detectives Lane and Harper are back for the third Detective Lane Mystery in this gripping twister of a novel that baffles with its ever-increasing body count and suspect list.

When Ryan Dudley ventures out on horseback and his horse returns without him, Lane and Harper are summoned to unravel the mystery. Dudley's disappearance marks the first anniversary of a young boy's murder in the same neighbourhood, and mounting evidence ties the two incidents together. When Dudley's roommate also goes missing and mysterious shootings shake the area, Harper and Lane are swept into a feud between neighbours, racial groups, and land owners. Now they must risk their own lives while desperately searching for a murderer on the loose for much too long.

Praise for A Hummingbird Dance
"This is the third and best novel in the very good series featuring Calgary detectives Lane and Harper. Ryan has a solid plot and, as always, a fine eye for setting."
~ The Globe and Mail

About the author

In 2004, Garry Ryan published his first Detective Lane novel, Queen’s Park. The second, The Lucky Elephant Restaurant, won a 2007 Lambda Literary Award. He has since published six more titles in the series: A Hummingbird Dance, Smoked, Malabarista, Foxed, Glycerine and the forthcoming Indiana Pulcinella. In 2009, Ryan was awarded Calgary’s Freedom of Expression Award. His series of World War II aviation adventure stories began publication in 2012 with Blackbirds with the second instalment, Two Blackbirds, releasing in Spring 2014.

Garry Ryan's profile page