Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

The Definition of Beautiful

A Memoir

by (author) Charlotte Bellows

Publisher
Freehand Books
Initial publish date
Sep 2023
Subjects
Personal Memoirs, LGBT, Eating Disorders
Categories
Author identifies as LGBTQ2S , About LGBT2QS people or experiences , Author lives in Alberta
This eBook meets EPUB Accessibility 1.0 specification and W3C Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) 2.0 A, at a minimum.
  • eBook

    ISBN
    9781990601477
    Publish Date
    Sep 2023
    List Price
    $10.99

Alberta-published books are available through the Read Alberta eBook Collection and can be borrowed through Alberta public libraries. Click here to learn more about borrowing titles.

Library Ordering Options

Description

A stunning memoir of coming of age and recovering from anorexia in the 2020s

Charlotte Bellows wrote The Definition of Beautiful between the ages of fifteen and seventeen, in the wake of lockdown and in recovery from anorexia. In the tradition of Sylvia Plath in The Bell Jar and Françoise Sagan in Bonjour Tristesse, Bellows writes with deceptively straightforward urgency, pushing through society's constraints on the bodies and minds of girls and women to offer a story both achingly familiar and devastatingly new.

In 2020, fourteen-year-old Charlotte's lifelong drive to achieve 'perfection' distorts into an all-encompassing obsession. Living between the suffocating world of lockdown and an uncanny dreamscape inhabited by competing avatars, Charlotte faces a parade of masked faces in hospital rooms, the aftermath of first love, the erosion of lifelong friendship, and the agony of seeing her illness devastate her family as it threatens to destroy her; as the world reopens, she finds new connections and mentors, new joy, new ways of thinking, new ways to be.

Charlotte Bellows offers a potent fusion of insight and innocence -- a story for those who suffer or have suffered from eating disorders, but, more, a vital coming of age story of a young gay and artistic woman, tugged and throttled by a myriad of pressures, not least from the dark gravity that is the underside of her own creative drive.

About the author

Charlotte Bellows is a high school student in Calgary. The Definition of Beautiful is her first book.

Charlotte Bellows' profile page

Editorial Reviews

In her stunning debut, The Definition of Beautiful: A Memoir

, Charlotte Bellows has crafted a work of searing honesty, beauty, and daring. She takes on the definition of beauty the world demands and in exquisite prose, in a structure uniquely hers, bravely carries the reader into anorexia’s devastating isolating alternate landscape, a landscape of heartbreak, hopelessness, and ultimate transcendence. It is an intimate story, yet universal to all who have felt despair. Its language sings as she opens to the reader the extraordinary resilience of the human spirit. I read this book breathless at its emotion, its intelligence, and its art.

Rosemary Nixon